I Love Rat Queens

So, so good.  It’s like you took a wine fueled D&D session with your girlfriends (note to self: have one of those) and turned it into a graphic novel.

A foul mouthed, hard drinking band of hilarious mercenaries causes ruckus, usually always involving bloodshed, sometimes for money, sometimes always for fun.  The character descriptions are “Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Thief.”

This was presented to me by a colleague on the basis that someone had obviously written it for me.  Seeing his point, I purchased it.  Purchase of Volume 2 is imminent.

I’m sure you’re all already reading Saga… but if you’re not, start.  As a colleague described it, it’s Romeo in Juliet in space, with lots of hot space sex.  I love Lying Cat.  I need more people to read Saga so I can say “LYING” at every opportunity.

Oh, and while you’re at it, pick up the new reboot of the Huntress series.  I was weirdly excited about the fact that she isn’t leaping around in high heels, and actually has real boots with decent tread.  A small detail, but an important one.

Christie

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books, geek lit, Graphic Novels

One response to “I Love Rat Queens

  1. I totally am with you on Rat Queens! I laughed hysterically through issue one and then was crushed when my local comic joint didn’t have to next one. Luckily when I asked they had just got in the first volume which I excitedly bought and is patiently waiting on my comics-to-be-read shelf alongside Saga volume 2 🙂 I haven’t read any Huntress, but I do approve of the more fight-friendly footwear 🙂

Tell me what you think:

