I’m Baaaack

Having apocalyptic weather pretty much creates reading time, since it’s a leisure activity you can do without power or heat.   I’ve read a few great books of varying genres, which have helped me keep what little sanity I have left.

I love, love Alan Bradley’s character, Flavia De Luce. If you haven’t started this wonderful mystery series, do so now.  A young chemist whose passion is poison, an old estate, and a series of dead people make for beautifully written, highly addictive books.  The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie is the first one.  The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches is the most recent, and just as great as the first, which doesn’t always happen.

The Impossible Knife of Memory is a YA title, but definitely isn’t just for teens.  Hayley Kincaid has been on the road with her truck-driver father for years.  They have returned to their hometown so Hayley can attend high school.  Her father, Andy, is struggling with steadily worsening PTSD, a legacy of his service in Iraq.  Hayley is taking care of her father, while hiding the truth of his condition from everyone else, trying to preserve their independence.

A wonderful, wonderful story, funny and sad and dead on.

I have been re-reading the Chronicles of Elantra series, by Michelle Sagara.  A combination of epic fantasy and police procedural, this is one of my favorite fantasy series, and I own every single one.  Michelle Sagara West is a fellow book-seller and Torontonian (Bakka Phoenix, you should visit it if you’re in town), so I feel happy supporting her.  She also writes as Michelle West.

More soon, and happy (non-apocalyptic) reading.

Christie

 

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Bookstore, Review, Teen Books

6 responses to “I’m Baaaack

  1. I love Alan Bradley now, too. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie was the first book I got on an ereader from the TPL. However I dropped my ereader and it got a digital crack in it!! How can you read without power and heat if you do not have an iphone or ereader?

  2. Doug Gardham

    Hi Christie;

    I don’t know whether you saw it or not but The Actor: A Novel was on CHFI’s Erin Davis’s Book Recommendations webpage.

    I hope all is well and hope to see you again at Chapters Scarborough in the not to distant future.

    Take care. Doug Gardham 705 435 7892 or 705 440 0845 (cell)

    From: bibliophiliacs Reply-To: bibliophiliacs Date: Thursday, 16 January, 2014 3:44 PM To: Doug Gardham Subject: [New post] Im Baaaack

    WordPress.com bibliophiliacs posted: “Having apocalyptic weather pretty much creates reading time, since it’s a leisure activity you can do without power or heat. I’ve read a few great books of varying genres, which have helped me keep what little sanity I have left. I love, love Ala”

Tell me what you think:

