Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

How can you resist that title?  I think I would recognize Mr. Penumbra.  I want to work in his bookstore.  Honestly, the only thing I didn’t like about this book was the cover art.  The cover they had on the advance reading copy was nicer.

This book features a quirky bookstore (hey, I work in a bookstore!), code breaking, bibliophile cults (sign me up), crazy awesome technology (some of which is real), hot girl computer geeks (not me, in this case), mysterious goings on at Google…  honestly, it’s like someone custom designed a book for me.  The writing is great, the pacing is great… thank you Robin Sloan, I appreciate the book you wrote for me.

If you love books, be it real ones or on e-reader, this book is for you.  Be forewarned, friends and family, I will be forcing you to read this.

Christie

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Bookstore, E-Books, E-readers, Review

2 responses to “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

  1. Great, another book to add to my ginormous backlog. Thanks! 😛

    Is it a hipper, Dan Brown The Da Vinci Code-esque adventure?

    • It’s more lighthearted and fun, and probably not likely to leave rabid fans combing through the locations mentioned in the book. Although if they did, they’d probably have more fun, especially at Google… and I seriously would love to check out one of the locations mentioned, a giant storehouse for artifacts not on display at museums.

Tell me what you think:

