As You Wish

Happy 25th anniversary to The Princess Bride (movie, not book).  The movie inspired me to read one of my very first (non-children’s) fantasy fiction stories, The Princess Bride, by William Goldman.  Erm, I mean, by S. Morgenstern, abridged by William Goldman.  Sorry.

Between my husband and I, we’ve read the book so many times I’ve had to replace it twice.  It has everything you could want in a fantasy, as the book itself says: “Fencing. Fighting. Torture. Poison. True love. Hate. Revenge. Giants. Hunters. Bad men. Good men. Beautifulest ladies. Snakes. Spiders. Beasts of all natures and descriptions. Pain. Death. Brave men. Coward men. Strongest men. Chases. Escapes. Lies. Truths. Passion. Miracles.”

I can’t even count how many times I’ve quoted that movie and book.  If you haven’t seen it, go watch it.  If you haven’t read it, go read it.  Then, go slap your friends and family for letting you go this long without it.  Inconceivable!

Now, you too will want to greet people with “Hello, my name is <insert here>, prepare to die”.

Welcome to the club.

Christie

P.S.

Just so you’re extra impressed with the movie, aside from the somersaults, Cary Elwes and Mandy Patinkin actually did that whole fencing scene themselves, after instruction from a master swordsman.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Review

2 responses to “As You Wish

  1. KC

    My absolute favourite movie ever! I only read the book in my twenties but I love it too. I actually met someone who had taken lessons from the same fencing instructor – but had never seen the movie! He actually said, “Yeah, my instructor has worked on some movies, including something called ‘The Princess Bride’ or something…” I wanted to slap him upside the head!

Tell me what you think:

