Zombies vs Unicorns

Do I actually need to finish writing this?  I mean honestly, the book is called Zombies vs. Unicorns.  Isn’t that enough?

Fine.  Be that way.

The world seems to be divided into two camps, those who are on Team Zombie, and those who are on Team Unicorn.  You can understand how there isn’t exactly a lot of overlap.  Now, small children are exempted from this, but once you’ve hit voting age, generally you’ve come down on one side or the other.

Unless unicorns are substantially less wussy than portrayed, I have to say I am firmly on the side of Team Zombie.   Generally, the stories are more interesting, although I have to say that there were some strange and cool imaginations at work in the Zombies vs. Unicorns anthology.

The book itself is divided into authors who wrote unicorn-themed or zombie-themed stories, depending on which team they were on.  The stories are on the whole, great.  They’re also usually poking fun at the genres, which I love.  Actually, the dialogue between the two “team captains” (also, less importantly, editors) Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier, debating the relative merits of zombies and unicorns, may have been the best part of the book.

In any case, if you are looking for a fun, silly read, look no further.   Also, I really want a t-shirt of the book art.

So, are you Team Zombie, or Team Unicorn?

Christie xo

3 Comments

Filed under Books, E-Books, Review

3 responses to “Zombies vs Unicorns

  1. I love the sound of this! I agree with you on the cover art – lovely graphics work. I’m not sure I’m actually unicorn or zombie – but perhaps more zombie. Amoured kick-ass unicorn perhaps?

  2. Love this! I’ll have to go find the book! As a little girl I probably would have been well and truly in Team Unicorn but now I love a good Zombie story or film so I’ll be right behind you in Team Zombie 🙂

  3. If it was the unicorns from Mercedes Lackey’s Obsidian Mountain/ Enduring Flame trilogies, where they’re sarcastic assholes, maybe. Also I have two girls, so I also have been My Little Pony’d to the point of illness, which may add to my anti-unicorn stance.

Tell me what you think:

