Everybody Loves Zombies

A lot of the conversations I’ve had lately have had the topic of zombies come up.   One recent discussion with coworkers involved debating what actions we would take, given the zombie apocalypse (My vote is to head for the Arctic, others thought staying on the move and raiding small towns… it got heated).

The Walking Dead tv series is possibly one source of zombies on the brain (either that or the Oscars, and thoughts of Joan Rivers).  The tv series is based on the graphic novels of the same name, which are definitely worth checking out, and have a depth of storyline to them that isn’t often found in zombie stories.

walking deadnulljoan rivers

In fact, there are a lot of books that can be classified as zombie lit, ranging from survival manuals to novels, and a few in between.  Here are a few I recommend, with some suggestions from fellow zombie-loving (in the story sense, no necrophilia here) friends.

Want to plan for the zombie apocalypse?  Here’s your go-to guide.

zombie survival

I have mentioned Pride & Prejudice & Zombies before… this book will create a whole lot of new Jane Austen fans.  Loved it.

prideprejudicezombies

World War “Z”  comes highly recommended by several of the staff at the bookstore – written as a nonfiction account of the history of the zombie war, the new perspective alone makes it worth checking out.  Apparently it is being made into a movie, too.

worldwarz

For those who like mixing reading about the undead with reading about kinky sex (and who doesn’t), the   Laurell K. Hamilton’s series is full of zombies, as well as vampires, werewolves, and assorted other creatures of the night.  These books are definitely not Twilight (and I’m not just talking about the sex).  The stories are pretty dark, and can be downright uncomfortable.  But they are almost never bland, at least.  This is the cover of the newest one, coming soon:

Anyways, enough from me… have a great zombie read to recommend?  Let me know!  Also, I’d love to hear what your zombie apocalypse strategy is.

C.

10 Comments

Filed under Books, Bookstore, Review

10 responses to “Everybody Loves Zombies

  1. Great zombie picks! I’ve read them all except Pride, Prejudice, and Zombie, which is sitting on my Kindle.

    Not a lot of zombie literature out there, at least not many major works. I’d be interested to see what people can recommend outside of the excellent picks you mentioned.

    As far as strategies, hmmm.I live in NYC, so it’d be hard to get to a forested area (which would be my first destination even though I have no hunting skills).

    There are some very secure buildings in Brooklyn; I might just hunker down and build a fortress. If I ever need food, supermarkets and other stores are never far away. Urban survival baby! 🙂

    By the way, I adore zombies. I’m totally down for discussing them in blog for if you ever feel the need. Drop by my page sometime. 🙂

  2. A couple of the zombie stories in Zombies v. Unicorns were pretty memorable, and even for the right reasons!

  3. Pingback: Necrophilia? You can love zombies, but you shouldn’t “love” zombies. | bibliophiliacs

  4. Pingback: Zombie Survival Facts: Is There Any Chance To Survive A Zombie … | Survival Aids

Tell me what you think:

