Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter

I read Seth Grahame-Smith’s Pride, Prejudice and Zombies, and thoroughly enjoyed it in all its ridiculousness.   So when Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter came out, I immediately snatched it up, looking forward to something in the same vein.  The plot is great – a vampire tragedy in his youth turns young Abraham Lincoln into a fanatical vampire hunter, and almost every decision he made was motivated by his desire to exterminate the race (including the civil war, who knew?).

The book is written in the format of secret diaries, but I found the writing a little plodding, a slow read despite a plot that feels like it should be racing along.  I suppose  Grahame-Smith is writing it in a form that is supposed to have the feel of a journal from that time period, but I kept waiting for it to become the book it should have been.  There were great elements, for sure, but it just did not live up to his first work, in my eyes.

There is, however, a movie on the horizon, produced by Tim Burton, so I am looking forward to a format that will hopefully make the book’s story shine.   The movie looks like a lot of fun, and features a hand to hand battle between Lincoln and a vampire on top of a moving train – this I need to see.

Here’s a link to a review/trailer:  http://entertainment.time.com/2012/02/13/tim-burton-abraham-lincoln-vampire-hunter-trailer-exclusive/

It might also be my own prejudices towards writing from that time period, which I find dense and generally annoying, so take this review with a grain of salt.   I will unequivocally recommend Pride, Prejudice and Zombies.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Review

One response to “Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter

  1. I also read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and i did enjoy the parody…but i haven’t read Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter… i am looking forward to also watching the movie especially since it is by Tim Burton.

Tell me what you think:

