Essence & Folly

essenceandfolly
 

The other day, we had an author signing in my bookstore.  The gentleman in question impressed me greatly, with his warm interactions with readers and obvious passion for his subject material, and also by the fact that he had a small girl curled in his lap for an extended period of time, and simply continued speaking to people about his book.

The man’s name is Jorge David Awe, and his first published work is a thing of beauty.  It is a collection of short-stories, inspired by the town he grew up in, in his native Belize.  Apparently friends have been pressing him to put pen to paper with his recollections, and bless those friends.

The writing reminds me a bit of Stephen Leacock, in that ability to describe a character so perfectly you feel you would recognize him on the street, with a few well-chosen words.  The stories are funny, or dark, or darkly funny, and are like little tiny written still lifes.

In his inscription, Awe wrote that he hoped I would enjoy being introduced to a “colourful, raw, and wonderful culture,” and I did.   The stories are little snapshots of lives without veneers, of how perhaps we would behave were we not occupied with the appearance of normalcy.

Raw indeed.

Go grab Essence & Folly, by Jorge David Awe – you’ll be glad you did.

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Review

3 responses to “Essence & Folly

  1. Jorge David Awe

    Christie,

    So glad to hear you enjoyed my very modest collection of short stories. It’s interesting that you made the connection to Stephen Leacock, as his book, Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town, served as one half of my personal inspiration for writing this short story collection. (The other book is: Miguel Street, by V.S. Naipaul.)

    I’d also like to commend Chapters Scarborough for hosting my book-signing event. In the end, however, it’s people such as you, with such obvious passion for what you do, who help to make these types of experiences memorable.

    Hope to meet you again in the near future – perhaps, on a visit to promote my second collection of short stories!

    All the best,
    David

    • David,

      I did enjoy it, very much, and now have a waiting list of people who want to borrow my copy! I’m sending them to get their own, so I hope you have a reprint scheduled. I am thrilled that you visited my blog, and I can’t wait to see your next collection.

  2. Jorge David Awe

    That’s great news, Christie; meeting demand shouldn’t be a problem. (Also, I think you still have a few copies in store?)

    The greatest privilege – for me – as a writer, is the opportunity I get to ‘lend my eyes’ each and every time a reader picks up my book. Sure, the stories can get quirky and a little colourful. But hopefully they also reflect the sincere fun I have every time I sit down to write.

    All the best, and continued success with the blog!

    David

Tell me what you think:

